Cheap turntable parts

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm looking for a source for very inexpensive turntable parts. My plan is to build a all-in-one turntable system with built in amp and speakers to rival the sound quality (excuse my language here I don't like the "B" word either) of a Bose Wave radio or the like. I would like to build and sell the units in the nieghborhood of $500. So I'm not looking for top quality stuff her just the motors and such to make it work.

Well I was kinda looking for a consistant source for the motors and gears and what not. I've never built a TT before so I don't know what all is necesary but I want to find a source where I can continue to get the same parts. Basically I need all the stuff I couldn't build myself without doing a lot of studying up. Maybe like a wholesaler.

Disabled Account
Joined 2009
Well I was kinda looking for a consistant source for the motors and gears and what not. I've never built a TT before so I don't know what all is necesary but I want to find a source where I can continue to get the same parts. Basically I need all the stuff I couldn't build myself without doing a lot of studying up. Maybe like a wholesaler.

You might want to try a few thrift stores or yard sales first. You could buy a few and take them apart and see what all is involved.

I remember all the parts for a kit being sold some years ago. But I haven't seen it in a long time.

No gears involved with a straight manual turntable. Most budget turntables use AC synchronous motors, which are easy enough to source. I probably have two or three of that type of motor in my parts bin. I salvaged a nice AC motor from a trashed BSR turntable and a beautiful Hall Effect motor from a Pioneer turntable.

Last edited: