Total noob with blown Pre-amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2011, 08:40 AM   #1
Colday is offline Colday  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Total noob with blown Pre-amp

Hi all,

I really am a complete noob to the site but I need help.

I'm fairly good with a soldering iron but knowing what to solder is currently beyond me!

I have a Pro-ject Debut II turntable running through a Pro-ject Phono Stage. It was packed away for a while during some renovations to the house and when I unpacked it I managed to plug the incorrect transformer into it. I plugged a 16v DC transformer in rather than the correct 16v AC transformer, resulting in a puff of smoke and no sound. I've opened up the casing of the phono stage and found what appears to be a blown resistor on the AC input.

I've tried to read through the thread about the Pro-ject phono stages but I'm afraid it is way beyond my knowledge levels.

I have included a photo of the circuit board, could someone tell me what value the resistor is that is blown. It's not hugely apparent as the flash from the camera bleached out the burn mark so I have circled it in red.
I have also included a photo of the circuit side of the board. Sorry that it is reversed but my brain isn't working too well and I can't get photoshop to reverse it.

If you could also suggest if anything else may have been damaged in the incident :-)

Cheers all
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pro-ject Phono Box - comp side small.jpg (219.7 KB, 181 views)
File Type: jpg Pro-ject Phono Box - circ side small.jpg (250.4 KB, 174 views)
Old 11th February 2011, 09:49 AM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Hi,