Please Need Help, Technics SP10 mk II - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th October 2010, 05:16 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Please Need Help, Technics SP10 mk II

Hello, I'm a newbie with turntables and I am buying an Technics SP10 mkII . . . the gentleman shipping it to me from England does not not have the Motor Lock Down Plate that is used for shipping, instead he will secure the motor with " alternative pads and tape " . . . . this REALLY worries me becouse the literature seems to say not to ship without it, AND it is a long way from England to the USA. Am I over-reacting ? . . .. . . . is there another way to ship this safely ? ......... I looked at the service manual thinking that he could take the motor out of bearing but thy seem to be one unit --- I couldn't find a diagram of how the motor seperates from the bearing, THANK YOU for any help you can give, Sincerely, hallcon83
Old 13th October 2010, 04:00 PM   #2
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Not very familiar with the TT, but I assume he could make a motor lock down plate out of very stiff cardboard, thin sheet of plastic, etc.. The motor and bearing cannot be separated to the best of my knowledge.