syncing / adjusting motor speed between two tandberg decks (64x & 65)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i have a tandberg 64x and a model 65 playback deck. i am not sure which one is playing closer to "correct speed," but would like to figure out how i can get them to playback at the same pitch. i am a musician using the pair of decks for creating music. i would like to be able to move something recorded on the 64x to the 65 to play back to play along with the previously recorded tape, adding new layers and re-recording to the 64x. it doesn't matter to me what the correct speed actually is, just that they play in sync with each other.

it is a benefit to have the playback deck running a little bit faster when using the two decks together making long tape echos (keeping good tape tension). however, the problem comes when playing along with a tape playing back on the 65. the 65 runs a little faster (and thus tonally sharp) so the playback sounds out of tune compared to my instruments.
_

* is there a way to modify the speed of the 65 playback motor to sync up the two decks? i would rather do any modifications to the 65 deck, as there is plenty of room in there, and not as many downfalls if something gets messed up.

_

my understanding of motors is limited, but the service manual for the 64x states it is a hysteresis synchronous motor motor (and appearances are similar in both decks). if i understand correctly, the speed of this motor type syncs up with the 60hz ac and is subsequently hardwired in for each motor.

if that is the case i can only think of two options for getting the speeds to sync up:

1.) carefully modify (or re-machine) the pulleys on top of the motor that contact the idler wheel to slow the 65 down to the same speed as the 64x. i can see some problems here, especially if there are screw ups...