MPP

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
We used to walk about 1/2 a mi into the storm drain system to get total sensory deprivation. I understand the feeling. I still think the brain is reacting to the confusion and it is not simply the "noise floor". Ikoflexer sent me a link to that paper on how stocastic resonance figures into this. This is clearly beyond a casual discussion of anecdotal experiences.

Fear as noise. Well, if you think what kind of confusion and disaster it may bring...Kinda of a bad transmission of critical war news.

I am not very experienced with relays. Usually i try to avoid them.
I will get a Tent Labs volume control that uses relays and Dale resistors because i build a preamp for a friend that wants remote control. I will compare it to my PSG preamp that is currently in the system of my friend. He is very happy with the result and will report if he hears any degration when he gets the relay controled preamp. He has an excellent system and a very good room. He has over 20 years experience with high end and i can trust him.
On another issue i build the Low Z Fet MPP. It worked right away. Bias at the input can be adjusted to a very low level and it is very stable. It should be because Fets are constant current sources. I had some trouble to adjust Bias to zerro at the input and also at the output the same time so i used a coupling cap to test it.
I think i have a solution for that and will try that out tomorrow.

Joachim, I understand that you don't like relays, however, I have specific need for a relay. as the project that I am working on demands some sort of relay. However, IF I put my opinion on mercury wetted relays on another thread, it probably would not have appeared. Thanks for letting me put it here. Now, back to more interesting things.

i build a new High Z MPP and have it currently plaing with the Inductive RIAA.
I made some improvments that lowered distortion and offset much.