MPP

Talking about noise and avalanche breakdown, there is a chapter “AVALANCHE BREAKDOWN AND NOISE” in Motchenbacher/Connelly that gives the following warning that may be of interest:

Caution! … routine tests or adjustments can inadvertently ruin a perfectly good low-noise, high-gain transistor. This can happen when the base-emitter junction of a BJT is reverse-biased beyond its avalanche knee. The low-frequency noise of the device can be increased by 10 times because of a circuit turn-on transient, an overload signal transient, or the testing of V EBO. …

So far so good, but I just ordered a automatic component tester – Peak Atlas DCA 55 – that lets you “connect your component any way round and press the test button”, i.e. it searches for the correct terminals of the device. Now, the peak test voltage is supposedly 5.1 Volts, which is exactly where the EB breakdown of a transistor occurs according to the datasheets. I am just beginning to wonder how safe it is to use this type of tester. But again, I may be worrying to much (though I would not want to "tune" the noise performance of my transistors) :eek:

I'm interested in your suggestions on how to improve my RTP3 circuit - but it needs to be a practical sonic improvement, not just measured.

This is what usually leaves me in a dazed state and also where the communication breaks down: In a MC pre, you say 1nV/rtHz noise is not an issue 'cause most people will live with it; you say open loop is fine, 'cause distortions are anyway not audible; and then you praise non-magnetic resistors, and other such, for their superior sound.

I (and I dare to say, anyone of my EE breed, not involved in the audio industry) would tell you that there are 1001 reasons, some of them many orders of magnitude larger, impacting the sound in your designs, before you can talk about (non)-magnetic resistors.