Mpp - Page 521 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th February 2012, 10:57 PM   #5201
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator

Hmm, is the Is > Idss?
Old 6th February 2012, 11:04 PM   #5202
diyAudio Member

Very near, only degenerated by the 2,5Ohm. The stage is self conducting but also forced by the constant current sources. My sample of the FPS is quiet. When i get it back from a loan i can measure it. It simulated with -77dB against 1mV.
Old 6th February 2012, 11:07 PM   #5203
diyAudio Member

As a young man i worked in the High Tech industry. We would have build input stages for brain scanners that way. That was between 1984 and 1989.
Old 6th February 2012, 11:12 PM   #5204
diyAudio Chief Moderator

I am a bit afraid about the forced current regarding the 1/f hyperinflation. Anyway, only when you will measure yours we can give hesener some solid landmark to work towards really. I like the simple concept there.
Old 6th February 2012, 11:27 PM   #5205
diyAudio Member

The FPS is basically a Tietze-Schenk low noise input stage, interpreted as a Fet input balanced INA. You can see it in T/S, Chap. 4 or in Burkhard Vogel´s "Sound of Silence", first Edition, page 48. John Curl send me a Fax with the same circuit from the 60th, also single ended, so this idea is ages old. A guy from Canada who´s name i have forgot made an ultra low noise single ended version although he is not a fan of the constant current sources. In praxis i found that the noise disadvantage is compensated by the gain advantage plus better PSSR. Two circuit i have in my lab prove that it is ultra low noise.