Valve Itch phono

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I'm using an Audioquest Onyx LOMC, and currently running it through a set of vintage Shure SUT 1:10 (which I like a lot). Arm is a Sumiko Premier MMT on a modified VPI HW 19 MKIII w/outboard motor. So far I have been happy with a Siren Song, SB cascode 12AY7, and a Salas NJFet RIAA w/SSHV reg (thanks Salas for the great designs). Both the Siren Song and NJFet are really quiet.

The Itch along the 1:10 SUT should suffice for gain even if your cart is 0.2mV to 0.3mV. Already having a line preamp with some gain presumed.

I had a hard time finding any info on it. All I know it is close to a Audioquest AQB100MH, which is listed as 1.6mv (was built by Scantech and rebranded and labeled for the US). I do think that the rated output is correct for the Onyx. It's no more that 2mv. Yes I do have a line stage, a 26 5:1 xfmr coupled.

Joined 2006
Paid Member
Hi Salas

I am now studying the Itch and allready have some basic questions:

In the first stage you use a rather highish plate resistor for the lower triode (R2 = 82k) and I believe you do so because you do not need a large voltage swing on the output of that mu stage.

Anyway, the dynamic impedance of that resistor should be around R2 / (1 - Avcf)

What value should I consider for Avcf (Voltage gain of the CF on top?)

Around 0.9 ?

I think so, that's the way I have it loaded through my SUT.
BTW, I did a search through all my schematics I've archived over the years, and found a very similar circuit to the itch. I was by the late great N. Shishido, published in MJ mag in the 80's and later republished in Sound Practices. Dual 6DJ8 with a passive Tango LCR riaa between stages and 1:10/20/40 Tango SUT input. The 6N1p input and the SSHV should really make this itch circuit sing (very clever Salas).

Attachments

• Shishido LCR Phono.bmp
    163.6 KB · Views: 181
diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member