SME Series III (3) Mods & Suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am fairly new to vinyl replay. I am just completing a DIY phono-stage, details here

Hopefully that should be up and running by the end of the day.

My TT is a Technics SL120, combined with an SME Series III. I have read pretty much nothing but bad things about this tonearm, but it's what I have and I'd like to run with it for a while. Oh and my cartridge is a Grade Prestige Gold.

Looking at the knife edge "bearing", I can see why this may rattle! Could I seal off the V and put some sort of fluid in the little troughs to damp vibration?

I have also been told that adding mass to the inside of the arm wand will also help, any suggestions on what to use?

Oh, I am just completing a rewire of the entire arm with some Pure Silver wire, just what I had handy and I thought I'd experiment.

Any suggestions welcome.

Regards, Lee.

Thomo

1. Do you have the lead ballast weights that come with the arm? I have a suspicion that people who don't like the arm possibly do not have the full compliment of accessories that comes with it. Those lead weights are meant for adjusting the arm's effective mass. Whatever the compliance of the cartridge, you should add or subtract mass to/from the arm so that the effective mass is right for the cartridge. Download the manual from Vinylengine.com. There are many adjustments to be made to this arm (I can think of 6) but it is quite easy, surprisingly.

2. Does your arm actually rattle? Push/pull it gently back and forth to test (not up or down).

I have owned a Series III arm, and it had all accessories and original packaging. I don't share the vew that it is junk.

I really don't know if I have all of the weights. My dad gave me the turntable and arm after having it in his attic for twenty years. The arm originally had a Shure V15 III, which I no longer have.