how to disable auto functions on DD turntable

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all. I'm new to this forum but have been lurking for some time.

I am thinking of doing a project using some old bits I have around the house. What I want to do is take an old fully automatic Denon DD turntable, strip everything out of the plinth, and mount it in a heavier plinth of my own constuction, and use a Rega arm. Obviously this will be a fully manual table...

Has anyone tried this? Is there a problem getting the thing to just work fully manual? Really I just need an on/off switch.

I know it would be easier to buy a fully manual turntable, but I'd like to recycle what I have. (plus I'm cheap!)

Thanks

Kirk

er which denon?

many are quite good, many were quite bad.

A lot of the auto functions use opticall sensors,(not Denons exclusively). I have no personal experience with the Denons, but if using a Rega or similar, then the output of the sensors must be over-ridden as being "on" all of the time.

I know it's pretty inept for an answer, but basically that's what needs to be done.

I'm sure others out there have done similar.

Besides being cheap, is there any other reason to stick with the Denon?

stew

Stew-

I want to use the Denon because:

a: I like the way the platter looks
b: it seems to be a reasonable quality DD table.
c. I have not found a cheap fully manual DD table on E-bay
d. We are getting yet another snowstorm here in Chicago
and I am getting really bored stuck indside.

I've been reading all these threads about DD,
belt drive and idler wheel turntables, and I was thinking
about doing a comparison between all three.

Currently I have a Systemdek IIX with some minor mods, which has it's merits but seems a little soft. I also have heavily modifed
AR XA (all the Merril mods) which is awaiting a new arm (Rega).