step up transformers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd November 2007, 03:03 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default step up transformers

HI,
I have a high output MC cartridge (2.5mV) that front the analog end to my low watt system (i am new to analog). It is driving a good pre which feeds a Pass ZV9 and a pair of high efficiency speakers.
I need to add some gain to this chain and my understanding is that i can do that through a pre-phono amp. I have recently stumbled across MC step up transformers and i was wondering if it would be possible to substitute a transformer for the pre-phono.
I don't need much gain (because of the MC's high output) and i thought if i could avoid adding another "active" stage in terms of a RIAA stage this would be a good thing.
Would someone mind enlightening me about step up transformers and whether this might be a good application?

Thanks
Neil
Old 4th November 2007, 12:02 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Neil,

I've never ventured into MC carts, as I'm not ready to jump down that rabbit hole. But I did want to say that your site has some great pictures of some very well done diy equipment.

Doug
Old 4th November 2007, 12:25 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks Doug,

Perhaps if i ever figure out this MC thing i might be able to add a few other projects
Old 5th November 2007, 01:39 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

do you have more information on your cartridge?

what make is it?

dave
Old 5th November 2007, 03:51 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Sumiko Blackbird
Old 6th November 2007, 12:27 AM   #6
diyAudio Member