RB250 or RB300 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th June 2007, 02:09 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to planarboy
Default RB250 or RB300

I just got my first rega Planar 3 which came with an R200, the Japanese one they used to use before 83.
I'm only new to the game.
Should I be trying to buy an RB250 or an RB300?
Origin works better on 250? true?
Also someone please name a few decent cartridges, I have an ortofon OB10 i think it is. is this a good enough first cartridge do y'all reckon?
My budget isn't up in the clouds but i plan to spend around 75 a week upgrading and learning about my rega...I love it.
Not looking for a straight answer guys, just wanna check out the argument and be involved.
Old 20th June 2007, 03:41 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default What's the rest of your system?

Cartridge, phono stage, etc.

Best to know the whole situation before dispensing advice.
Old 20th June 2007, 06:10 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

You should consider these:

1. Upgrade the motor assembly, as found in the new P3. Obtainable from Rega dealers.
2. Yes!.. junk the RB200 and replace with RB250 or RB300.

Many will swear the RB250 performs best with a counterweight upgrade. RB300 has certainly got a better stock counterweight than RB250 and VTF adjuster fitted. Its entirely up to you which one suits you, but upgraded motor and new arm is neccessary to lift the Planar 3 to another level and lease of life.
Old 20th June 2007, 01:16 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to planarboy
thanks for your help so far.
I have a rega planar 3 as i said, stock as, but with ortofon ob10 cartridge and also nice van den hul wiring.