Analog Audio switch with 4053

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to everyone!

I got a question concerning an analog switch with a 4053.
I built up the switch like you can see in the attachment.
The sense of building up the switch like that is, that the unused
input is connected to GND to avoid crosstalk.

The switch works pretty fine, but sometimes i get noise (oscillation?!?, perhaps capacitive coupling?) at the output. Touching the connection between the 4053 and the OP stops the noise. First the signal is similar to half-triangle, and sometimes the stage latches at Vneg.
I guess that the connection between the 4053 and the OP is too high Z and there is capacitive coupling or oscillation?!?

I'm not very experienced in analog circuit design, so perhaps
some of the cracks in here could give me a hint how to avoid
these problems?

Greetz and thanx in advance!
kmt

Attachments

• switchboard.jpg
    switchboard.jpg
    13.3 KB · Views: 1,496
Your circuit is basically OK.

Exactly which version of the 4053 are you using?
What are your supply rails?
What are the control signal "0"s and "1"s?

I would reduce the 2K resistors

The NE5532 common mode range is much lower than its supplies, not a good choice. If it is running off higher supplies than the 4053 there may be some power supply sequencing problems.

Hi!

I don't have the circuit in front of me, so I can't tell you the
exact version of the 5532 yet, but I'll have a look when I return
home today.

My supply rails are +/- 5V, the digital Part is controlled
with 0V / 5V.

I didn't take a lower value for the resistors, because
I was afraid of the non-linearity of the conductance of the 4053.

Am I right, or is that fact neglectible?

Greetz from Hamburg to Kuala Lumpur
kmt