Maxim DS1882 - the first of what may be many questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello analog line peoples,

I have it in my head to integrate the Maxim DS1882 into a preamp that is still, um, in my head.

I've hacked my way through some Arduino stuff, and have a twisted joshua tree running off the arduino for the past couple years.

I am not a programmer, just a copycat :rolleyes:

The digital portion is not the nature of my first question. I would like this new 'gem' to be capable of handling a balanced signal.

How can I handle balanced signals with the chip?

My assumption -
-one chip for each channel.
Left on each chip for positive (or visa versa)
Right on each chip for negative (or visa versa)
-and feed the same digital commands to both

seem correct? Can the chip handle a positive and negative swing?

and Thanks in Advance :)

https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/DS1882.pdf

hi PRR,

Well, you're right. I was just looking at the Muses chips datasheet, which names the pins L and R. I had L and R on the brain. Please replace Left and Right with '0' and '1'.

How would I use a pot? I would use four pots for balanced stereo.

I guess my concern was to do with the internal isolation of the individual pots, with one pot swinging positive, and the other pot swinging negative in the same chip.

Judging by your response, it is a non issue.

Thx

How can I handle balanced signals with the chip?

Being realistic, not one balanced attenuator reaches typical THD figures of a typical amplifier.
Just because you couldn’t find enough well balanced dual/quad potz.

So the one way to effectively attenuate differential signal and keeping differential connection is to simple: