OPA1622EVM Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm no electrical engineer. I do this as a hobby.

I'm building a preamp from individual components. ODAC, ESP Phono module, relay switched with LED, Alps RK27 motorized pot, and an OPA1622EVM.

Seems to work ok (aside from blowing up 2 OPA1622EVM modules due to my stupidity with short circuits...). My question is: The OPA1622EVM is supposed to be an eval board where you can change gain, cutoff freq, and phase. I see no way to actually modify these things. I want to raise the gain, but to do so, I need to add a resistor in parrallel to change the ratio of r1/r2, but they are SMD components. I realize that this board is for professionals looking to develop with the OPA1622, but, does TI really expect me to solder a resister over an smd resistor to change the gain? I must be missing something.

If any of you have any experience with this module, please chime in.

I also have a few more questions to follow:

1. I have the pot coming off the input and going into the opa1622evm. Is that the correct way to do that?

2. I have a pretty beefy power supply that supplies power to the opa1622, the phono preamp, and a line level converter to feed a balanced signal to the opa1622. If I wanted to avoid another opamp mishap, should I put a fuse inline with each power input line (+/-) or one for the (+/-/G), or is this just a stupid idea? If not, would a .2amp fast blow fuse be small enough to save any of the components, or will 0.2A kill everything before it blows?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer!

Kindest regards,

Darin