bandwidth limiting non-inverting follower

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a novice. Could you tell me whether this would work or is a nonsense circuit?

I want to put discrete transistor (bipolar, FET, JFET) voltage follower inside the feedback look of non-inverting OP amp voltage follower(unity gain). I also want RF stability of the voltage follower.

Attachments

• non_inv_follower.jpg
    non_inv_follower.jpg
    406.6 KB · Views: 174

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
> whether this would work

Yes, and it is a common plan.

Say C is 0.01uFd against R=1K. Then up to 15KHz the opamp controls the follower; past 15KHz the opamp controls itself and is not much affected by the follower's phase shift. Typically we can build a better follower and (for R=1K) C may be 470pFd, 300KHz crossover.

Stability is still not ensured, because there are many ways any amplifier can oscillate.

If the load is resistor, why would it be unstable?
The bandwidth of EF is normally faster than op amp, shouldn't be any problem.
Maybe when the op amp has large output resistance and transistor has large capacitance on input.

I'm thinking about this kind of circuit with rail-to-rail output Op amp, when the output impedance is changing through frequency, I don't know how to analyze stability .

Joined 2011
Paid Member
If it's an audio power amplifier it might be called upon to drive a 3-way loudspeaker with a crossover network, which is a reactive (not resistive) load. Or it might be used to drive a planar loudspeaker, which is a capacitive (not resistive) load. Capacitive loads are especially challenging to the stability of an amplifier with negative feedback.

> whether this would work