low distortion 6 transistor preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Here's a discrete preamp that can produce vanishingly low distortion (-120db) into a 2.2kOhm or larger load, with a 3V p-p output signal.

Why not opamps? Because this is transistor golf. :) Each gain stage in the preamp uses only 6 bipolars.

The first attached image is the core gain stage. The second image builds upon it into a full preamp circuit with two sets of baxandall tone controls at different cutoffs.

Why dual tone controls? If I build this, it'll be a drop-in replacement for the preamp board in a Pioneer SA-9500 mk2 which uses this dual tone setup. Values for the tone circuit are unchanged from the original Pioneer design.

Constructive criticism welcome. I'm still learning.

One nice thing about this circuit: tolerances don't matter. There are no betas or Vbe drops or resistors to match. Nothing needs to be thermally coupled.

Edit: Post 32 has final, as-built schematics. The images here were the original concept. (It turns out we can't edit attachments to the #1 post...)

Attachments

• pre_gain_stage.png
    pre_gain_stage.png
    64.7 KB · Views: 1,194
  • preamp.png
    preamp.png
    70.8 KB · Views: 1,178
  • preamp_tone.png
    preamp_tone.png
    41.2 KB · Views: 1,086
  • pre_fft.png
    pre_fft.png
    12.1 KB · Views: 1,085
Last edited:
Here's an updated gain stage and preamp, with somewhat better low-impedance performance and improved biasing of IN- in the tone control stages such that it won't affect in-band frequency response.

Attachments

• pre_gain_stage.png
    pre_gain_stage.png
    42.3 KB · Views: 1,001
  • preamp.png
    preamp.png
    73.1 KB · Views: 463
  • pre_fft.png
    pre_fft.png
    25.9 KB · Views: 253
Hi Dug!