BPPBP - Bruno Putzey's Purist Balanced Preamp (well a balanced volume control really)

Hi, I’m a novice diyer and I’m very interested in BPBP. I’ve seen that unfortunately the last GB for this project is now closed and tfboy doesn’t know if/when he will open a new one. So my question is if and how is possible to turn an idea in a real device, which I could couple to my new Hypex class d power amp. Sorry if I can seem silly in my request, but it is the only way I can follow to reach my aim (good listening to good music)
Thank in advance,
Gaetano.

Maplins do a 12-0-12 250mA for about £6. I get 13.7v out on my slightly high 242V mains.

12V 250mA Miniature Transformer | maplin

Just a heads up for anyone still needing transformers in the UK. Now Maplin are sadly in administration ... :sigh: .... these transformers are £3.20 ea now online (don't think they stock them in store).

EDIT: - They DO do them in store! 2 in each of my local stores (well, they are NOW, won't be tomorrow ).

Last edited:
Hi, my BPPBP drives two NC400 in full range mode. My problem , I would like to drive a Hypex PSC 2.400 as well , which needs +18dB input level.
I think about building a 2nd BPPBP to put it behind the 1st one.

BPPBP----------------------------------------------NC400(2x)
\-----------BPPBP-----PSC2.400------subw.

Can someone tell me whether I have to expect any kind of trouble with impedance, distortion, CMRR, R4/32 R15/42 or anything else?

18 dB is quite a lot. There are gain setting in PSC2.400!

//
I asked Jos Wolthuis (Hypex Electronics) for help, he told me there is no possibility to change the input sensivity. The manual doesn't help either.
If you're using the psc 2.400 as two way system, you can lower the high channel
in relation to the low channel.
I'd like to use it in bridged mode to drive my sub.
By the way, I forgot to say, my preamp system is fully balanced.