dynamic mic to electret input, with splitter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Total NOOB here! Be gentle. :eek:

I want to build a passive circuit to split a dynamic mic source to 2 inputs: 1 is a handheld (battery operated) radio, that expects a dynamic mic, and 2 is a recorder, that expects and is tuned for an electret mic input. The sound quality does not have to be all that great and it is voice only. This is for a racecar application.

I simply wired the mic to both inputs, which made the radio work just fine but you have to yell into the mic to get anything on the recorder. After that disappointment I did some research on what the heck a dynamic and electret mic are and how they work and I'm a little surprised that it works at all. I guess the small voltage supplied by the recorder (to power an electret mic) isn't affecting the radio negatively. The recorder has some gain controls but I have it up at max and it is at that point where yelling is only somewhat audible.

So I found a circuit online that has a transistor which boosts the voltage of the dynamic mic to something usable by an "electret input". Dynamic to electret mic . It seems reasonable to me at a glance and meets my need to have a passive circuit.

Will I be able to safely split the mic signal at the source, before the booster circuit, and have both radio and recorder work correctly?

The more expensive car harnesses (radio audio only, not considering an additional recorder) have an isolation transformer on the headphone side of the circuit, to cut the noise from the car's electrical system when the radio is powered by the car. In my case the radio is self-powered but the recorder will be powered by the car. Will it help me at all to add a transformer on the mic side?

Thanks so much for taking a look. It is actually more complicated than that even, but let's start here so I can understand the basics.