Unity gain opamp circuit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old Yesterday, 01:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Unity gain opamp circuit

Hello, I'm a newbie when it comes to "designing" my own circuits, so I would like some input on the attached circuit.

The goal is to have a capacitor coupled opamp that will serve as a buffer for a 25K volume pot. Source impedance will be less than 1.3k ohms, I would like the circuit to be able to play with amplifiers that have an input impedance as low as 30K. The opamp will be the LME47910 or LME47920/LM4562. Power supply pins will be decoupled with multiple low value ceramic capacitors.

What are your thoughts on the resistor and capacitor values?
Would you add or remove components to improve stability?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png opamp schematic.png (18.2 KB, 105 views)
Old Yesterday, 02:25 PM   #2
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

Its basically fine. R2 and R3 are not needed. R4 is to large, it need only be perhaps 33 ohm, just enough to isolate the opamp from cable capacitance effects.

(Although this is AC coupled you do realise it still needs a spilt supply as drawn)
Old Yesterday, 03:01 PM   #3
forr is offline forr  France
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooly View Post
Its basically fine. R2 and R3 are not needed.
When the pot cursor is at ground, it happens sometimes that the circuit oscillates.
I always keep R2.
Old Yesterday, 06:32 PM   #4
diyAudio Moderator

Must be honest and say I have never encountered that. Did you find it IC specific ?
Old Yesterday, 06:33 PM   #5
rayma is offline rayma  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote: