Getting Started on Preamp Design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd July 2014, 02:36 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Getting Started on Preamp Design

Hi All!

First post on this forum, I've been a huge fan of all the info that's available on here. Basically I want to get started on building a pre-amp circuit. I want to integrate it into an ADC/DAC design (specifically, something similar to the XMOS reference designs, if anyone's familiar with their products). I'm looking to design a clean, low-noise amplification for instrument level inputs to line level outputs. I'm new to the audio design community, and while I've done a good amount of research on different pre-amp circuits, I was wondering if any of you had some suggestions on documentation that helped you build pre-amp designs. I'm not sure what type of op-amp to use, if I need multiple op-amps (if I need none?), if it should have an inverting or non-inverting input, etc, so any help is much appreciated! Thanks in advance,

Pat
Old 22nd July 2014, 02:46 AM   #2
just another
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Pat, and welcome to diyAudio! I've moved your thread to the analog line forum as I think that is a more appropriate place for it

Tony.
Old 22nd July 2014, 02:47 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Noted, thanks!
Old 22nd July 2014, 11:28 AM   #4
udok is offline udok  Austria
diyAudio Member

What inputs do you need?
What is the voltage level of the inputs?
Do you need equalizer circuits or other features?
Do you need outputs for an power amp besides line level outputs?

NE5532 is a good choise for starting.
Old 22nd July 2014, 06:24 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

- I need two inputs for instrument level signals.