Active Low Pass

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys i am a Auto Electrician and electronics is my pass time.
I am making a low pass filter based on the tL074 for my Amplifier i just installed. Here is a link to the Install. The amp has no setting for LP

forums.justcommodores.com.au/ve-holden-commodore-2006-2013/232418-amplifier-install-nxt-battery.html

Here is very rough drawing i did of the circuit it is very basic 1st order cascaded. Surprisingly it works pretty good.
The input is on the non inverting pin

I am trying to change the frequency via a variable resistor. Circled red on the diagram but does nothing is there a reason why? Changing the Cap has more effect on the frequency then changing resistor

Also circled in blue Are capacitors i put 100nf ceramic type caps is this correct.

Thank you

Attachments

• rsz_low_pass_filter.jpg
    rsz_low_pass_filter.jpg
    17.1 KB · Views: 384
Hi, i'm presuming the reason it does nothing, is that you havn't connected the wiper ?

Yes the 100nf are fine.

Hey mate thanks for the reply.
I have connected the variable resistor so that the resistance fluctuates when you turn the wiper. leaving one terminal not in use here a pic.
Also i am not using a virtual ground i am using the earth from the rca if this helps.

Attachments

• rsz_variable_ohm.jpg
    rsz_variable_ohm.jpg
    4.2 KB · Views: 353
Yeah that pot wiring would work too. If ALL the connections & soldered joints are 100% ok, i'm surprised you don't hear ANY change. You might like to try a different pot of say 47k as that should help.

Also you MUST put a resistor of @ least 1k in series with the pot, because the OpAmp won't like a capacitor between it's output & ground if the pot is at zero resistance !

Ahh, i missed the fact that you're using the OpAmp off a single supply. Well you can't use that circuit like that then !