THAT 1646 PCB - help me review please

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

First: I am a complete newbie, so please be critical but friendly. :)

I am building a Najda DSP box, but would like to have balanced outputs. So I have tried to draw a PCB with 8 input channels and 8 Neutrik XLR outputs.

The schematics are mostly based on a standard variant from the THAT 1646 datasheet. I couldn´t find bipolar capacitors with radial connections in Eagle, so I have used a polarised variant in the diagram and board.

I also received the schematic from a friendly diyaudio-er, who has built similar boards earler. I will update with his alias later if he prefers, so credit can be given properly. :)

Here is the schematic:

attachment.php

The bit around the THAT1646 is repeated 8 times.

The main thing I have tried to do is to avoid the Pin 1 problem by tying it directly to a separate ground plane. Analogue ground and digital ground is not connected at the board, but will be connected somewhere else on the chassis.

Note that C20 and C19 should be non-polarised/bipolar caps (as mentioned above).

Questions:
1. Any thing in particular I should modify? Errors/improvements?
2. Do I have C3 the wrong way around?
3. Is it OK with 2x100uf capacitors on the power input? (keeping in mind I have 8 chips on the board)
4. Do I have C2 the wrong way around?
5. Should I use regulators on such a circuit - if so, what do you recommend? This is a one-off project, so I´m not looking for the most cost-effective solution, but rather want to know I have gotten a "blameless" part in the audio-chain.

And here is the board:
attachment.php

I have run all the power and signal traces on the top layer. There are two ground fills on the bottom layer - analogue ground for power and analogue signal and "shield" (DGND on the schematic) to act as an extension of the XLR shield and tie together G and Pin 1 on the XLR.