filter Q Question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th August 2013, 08:56 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default filter Q Question

Hello.
I have started to model an active filter design using Boxsim to sim the acoustic output and i have arrived at a 5 pole lowpass and 4pole highpass for my loudspeakers.

I have used each 2order stage Q to account for driver response vagaries, and in on case i have Q=1.5.

This filter has similar output to what i am using passively at the moment, in the active design im working on i was just a little concerned about ringing in the underdamped stages, and with that im seeking advice as im just starting out in active filter and a noob

Can someone here help me? Im concerned that the transient effect of this will be audible. Or am I concerned over nothing?

Thanks for reading

Last edited by mondogenerator; 30th August 2013 at 09:05 AM.
Old 30th August 2013, 10:37 AM   #2
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

How did you work out the combined Q of the cascaded stages?
Old 30th August 2013, 11:33 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

I havent worked out the combined Q Andrew.

In boxsim i can add a single pole, then add a 2pole 2nd stage in series and so on to reach 5 poles cascaded.

Each 2 pole stage has Fc and Q, with the single pole stage fixed at 0.7 as you would expect.
This is a LP btw.

1st stage 1st order at 400hz,
2nd stage 2nd order Q = 1.2 at 3500hz,
3rd stage 2nd order at 3300hz Q=1

IF memory serves. Ill check my numbers and post them a little later (I shouldve started there really lol )

Last edited by mondogenerator; 30th August 2013 at 11:40 AM.
Old 30th August 2013, 11:41 AM   #4
diyAudio Member