Need a help: Mark Levinson No26.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello...

I got a ML No26 without the PLS 226 from one of my uncles. In here in Sri Lanka we do not have a Mark Levinson dealer or service center. So I made my own power supply for it. my input voltage per channel is +18V 0V -18V. and for the relays, its 12V. Pre-amplifier is working now. But I need to know the factory input voltage for this. Please let me know if anyone knows.

Even though it sounds one resistor got burn. I am attaching a picture & you guys can find the resistor marked in RED. Please let me know the value of the resistor & the function of that resistor in the main output board.

I am very new to this Hi Fi stuffs. So need a hand to sort the thing out. Thanks Alot.

Regards,
A. Perera.

Attachments

• Resistor.JPG
    Resistor.JPG
    622.4 KB · Views: 227
As the link shows, the power supply only sent rectified/filtered voltage to the preamp. The regulator is in the left center of the picture. Look for the 6 jumpers going up to the input board, they are +,- and common and should be +/-18 volts, adjusted by the 1K pots near the jumpers. Adding in 6 or 7 volts of "headroom", The outboard supply should be +/- 24-25 volts or so.

Believe the resistor in question is 10 ohms. Could have overheated because of a bad electrolytic nearby. Replace ANY brown-cased "RDE" electrolytics you see inside - all prone to failure.

Charles

Hi Charles...

Thanks for the information. I replaced 10 Ohm half watt resistor. But that one also started to burn after some time. I did a voltage test after that. I checked the voltage between two soldering points of that resistor. It was 0.3V when it cold. Then I checked it again after running for one hour. The reading was 18.2V. Do have any thing to say about that?

Status