Any suggestions to improve these output and input filters?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

Been lurking and furiously reading for a while, before summoning the courage to ask here :whacko:

Below is a plan of the input (first 2) and output (last 2) stages of a preamp. I would like to understand their cutoff frequencies and see if any components may be better replaced.

I know the formula 1 / (2 x pi x R x C) but I am not sure about the values to be used here. Doesn't help that I am a nurse :(

Questions:

1. Let's just take the top L input. Am I right to understand that C303 and R301 form the high pass filter, and R303 and C301 form the low pass filter? If so, I can just plug in the values into the formula myself. The problem is that I came up with quite illogical numbers doing so.

2. If I can understand the appropriate numbers to be plugged into the formula, I should be able to understand the operational characteristics better.
But if you have any suggestions on how I can improve (or remove) these filters, I will be very grateful.

Thanks!!

Jenn

I can understand your confusion. The circuit excerpt you show does not provide enough information to calculate turnover frequencies.

C301 forms a low pass filter with whatever is the source resistance before it - but that is off the circuit in the source. I'm not sure why R303 comes after it, unless their aim is to prevent RF escaping from the circuit via an input.

C303 forms a high pass filter with whatever load resistance comes after it - but that is in the rest of the circuit which you have not shown.

I put C301/302 directly across the RCA input socket. The 47pF on very short leads to give a reasonable chance of attenuation the VHF, before it starts traveling along the wires and radiating into other parts of the circuit.

Putting 470pF on the PCB AFTER the wiring is too late.