How to use TDA7439 for center and subwoofer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th February 2013, 10:17 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default How to use TDA7439 for center and subwoofer

Hi,
I'm planning to build a 7.1 mixer & switch with TDA7439. For all the channnels I'm fine, but I'm not really good with the high pass and low pass filters. All channels will be connected according to the datasheet but I have a problem/question:
If I want to use one TDA7439 to mix center speaker and subwoofer, how can I change the highpass and lowpass filter on the IC that the highpass on one channel will be disconnected / won't have any gain and on the second channel the bass filter will be bypassed (won't have any gain).
Can I somehow modify the values of the capacitors and resistors of the treble and bass stage (and how) or do I have to put another high pass and low pass filter after the IC.
Basicly I don't want the basses to get into the center and trebles to go into the subwoofer.
The adjustment of the tone is linked, so both channel trebles and bass are being adjusted at the same time.
Or is it just easier to use two independent chips?
Datasheet: http://www.st.com/internet/com/TECHN...CD00004906.pdf
Thanks for any help or suggestions
Old 5th February 2013, 10:23 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Skype™ to JonSnell Electronic
I would not use this chip as it is obsolete.
Old 5th February 2013, 10:30 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harleyjon View Post
What chip with tone control and input multiplexer would you recommend? I was looking for some alternative myself, but couldn't find anything. Would you know how to solve the the filters?
Old 6th February 2013, 12:19 AM   #4
diyAudio Member