Request for Guides/Explanation Regarding Audio Mixer Circuits - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th December 2012, 11:03 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Red face Request for Guides/Explanation Regarding Audio Mixer Circuits

Hi all,

I am very new to this forum as well as DIY electronic circuits.
I am not an electrical engineering student nor I have sufficient background (I guess ).

I have a few questions regarding the building of an audio mixer.
Basically, I am interested to make an audio mixer to combine two audio sources which is from my laptop and my phone into one input to my multimedia speakers.

After hours of Googling around, I found various different schematics which I admit I find it hard to figure out what the components do.
So, it would be good if someone experience enough could explain them to me.

For instance, this schematic below:

Click the image to open in full size.
(Op-amp Summing Amplifier (Voltage Adder))

May I know what are the uses of the capacitors?
May I assume the capacitors before the amplifier have similar functions and their functions are different from the one after the amplifier?

I do understand that values of R1, R2, R3 and Rf influences the gain of the circuit.
Besides that, the output of the circuit is inverted does it matter if the output is not inverted back?

Furthermore, if I am interested in only unity gain (say R1=R2=R3=Rf), do I still require the amplifier for the mixer to work?

Lastly, are there any websites/readings regarding audio sources and signals. I believe with more understandings regarding audio signals I will be able to understand and design circuits more easily.

Thank you (for going through such long post of mine )!
Old 9th December 2012, 11:21 AM   #2