What's wrong with this typicial preamp circuit?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a EE student but I am a newbie of audio design.
I just simulated this typical preamp circuit but the frequency response looks bad.

my idea is connect this preamp to a tone control circuit, then to the LM3875 power output.

attached the result of Pspice simulation.

Attachments

• 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    32.2 KB · Views: 261
  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    232.1 KB · Views: 256
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
The main problem is simple... the choice of opamp. The 741 is utterly and totally outclassed performance wise and has been for the last 35 years or so :) But its great for learning.

Your first circuit has a voltage gain of 100 and that means the gain of the 741 rolls off very early. The second circuit has a gain of 10 and uses a very decent OPA134. You could use that for all these circuits.

Your second opamp circuit also has another problem that the first one doesn't. Can you see what it is ?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
I just spotted something else. Normally when talking of poor response and the 741 we mean at HF but you have a problem at LF too. The input coupling caps are far to small in relation to the 1K input impedance. Try a 10uf instead of the 0.1uf.

The main problem is simple... the choice of opamp. The 741 is utterly and totally outclassed performance wise and has been for the last 35 years or so :) But its great for learning.

Your first circuit has a voltage gain of 100 and that means the gain of the 741 rolls off very early. The second circuit has a gain of 10 and uses a very decent OPA134. You could use that for all these circuits.

Your second opamp circuit also has another problem that the first one doesn't. Can you see what it is ?