Mic pre strange high-freq boost (what is broken here?)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Please excuse if this is totally obvious, but, well, I have this preamp lying around, a basic SMPro PR4V unit. I thought about toying with it after reading that folks are happy with exchanging opamps in a similar box (I'm new to this kind of thing and I am not yet convinced that this does make any sense). Now, apart from any subtleties that differing opamps would bring, I have a very strange frequency response of this thing, on all 4 channels:

pr4v-highfreq.png

I wired it to the output of an E-MU 0404 USB via a passive DI (which is pretty damn flat, and for sure not boosting anything), and the line back to the E-MU, running RMAA. The first measurements are the same with using the mic inputs on the E-MU instead of the SMPro. Sampling rate is 96 kHz (I actually intended to whitness the roll-off at higher-than-hearing frequencies). Now, I understand the curves for the E-MU preamp: A flat region, and then loss of signal in the lows and highs. But the SMPro thing starts to scream from 10 KHz on.

Is this a design feature to make the sound more "bright". I somehow doubt that. Do you folks know what kind of defect in a typical preamp (input/output JRC NJM4558 with a host of resistors and coupling caps) could cause this? Is this already some funny oscillation of the unmodified unit? While I am not too experienced with audio / electronics engineering, I do know my physics and math, so you can talk dirty to me;-)

I'm prepared to replace caps and resistors just to see what happens to noise level .. but I am wary of this being totally wasted with this non-linear frequency response.

Hm, perhaps I would get more response if the thread would be in the correct section: I meant to put it into Analog Line Level, not Digital.