Fundamental Oscilliscope Usage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th May 2012, 03:38 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Fundamental Oscilliscope Usage

I am using Visual Analyzer which is calibrated at 2v 60Hz power line. The same supply shows a square wave, when it should be a near perfect sine wave.

60HzWaveform.PNGI doubt the utility company switched over to square wave distribution, so it must be something on my end. It is my first attempt at using an Oscope.
Old 20th May 2012, 04:04 PM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Could it be clipping? Perhaps you are only seeing the first volt of 115V?
Old 20th May 2012, 04:17 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DF96 View Post
Could it be clipping? Perhaps you are only seeing the first volt of 115V?
Thank you for replying.
The input is the secondary of a transformer, 2v rms. The gain is set at 50%. If set at 100% the same waveform appears.

Something is telling me Fourier Transformation is involved, but I am not sure precicely how that works.

Last edited by ITPhoenix; 20th May 2012 at 04:19 PM. Reason: Forgot Fourier
Old 20th May 2012, 04:34 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

What kind of hardware are you using to record that sine? Is recording gain set up correctly?
Old 20th May 2012, 07:39 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Visual Analyzer; PC based software through the sound card. It works perfectly with an actual microphone input.
Visual Analyser details

Here is the capture settings:
CaptureSettingsTab.PNG
Old 20th May 2012, 07:40 PM   #6
Simon B is offline Simon B  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITPhoenix View Post
Thank you for replying.