Vca's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have no experience with designing these circuits myself, although I have modified them sometimes to make a mixer work more or less normally with a damaged fader.

Besides making the filter time constant as large as possible, you should also try to keep the current throught the wiper as low as possible such that variations in contact resistance have little effect on the control voltage. If you have an RC filter right behind the potmeter and no DC load, the voltage remains constant even when the wiper temporarily doesn't make any contact at all. Besides, with carbon potmeters, any DC current through the wiper should flow into the wiper to prevent anodisation (according to an old Panasonic trimmer potmeter application note).

In normal broadcast use, the lower part of the fader typically gets damaged first because discjockeys tend to shift them very hard from -20 dB to -infinite dB. In that case it is handy to design your circuit such that it goes to -infinite dB when the wiper doesn't make contact at all. My damaged fader modification was to add a 10 Mohm resistor, an RC filter and a CMOS op-amp connected as a voltage follower between the fader and the original circuit. The 10 Mohm resistor would pull the wiper to the voltage corresponding to -infinite dB, but with only a very small DC current.