DC buildup in Linkwitz Transform

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here. So, I have 'successfully' built a Linkwitz Transform, with a +-10V power supply. I'm using it to extend the frequency response of my home-made desktop speakers.

But I have a problem:
Channel A behaves correctly, but Channel B develops a DC offset at the output, slowly climbing from 0 to 9 volts, and then the sound gets distorted.

It doesn't seem to be caused by a faulty op-amp. They are TL071s, so I swapped them around. The problem remains. It's also not a mishappen contact between the IC pins, as resistance between all adjacent IC pins in channel B is the same as channel A.

What can cause DC buildup in such a simple circuit?

Last edited:
A wiring error?

Do you mean, doing a crappy solder job, or connecting something to the wrong place?

If you mean the later, the power supply is only connected to the circuit by ground, and the opamps' Vcc+ and Vcc- pins. There isn't much to miswire.

If you mean a crappy solder job, I've nudged all the components around, but it doesn't affect the output, so they must be soldered correctly, this time.

What about other bits of the circuit? There is more to a circuit than the power wiring. If you are confident that all is correct, then I am confident that nothing is going wrong. You are more confident in your soldering tests than I am, but then I only have 40 years experience so what do I know? Wiggling can find a bad joint, but it can't confirm a good joint.

Hi,

One thing for sure is one channel is different to the other, and I don't think
it would take DF96 very long to find out what that difference is. So many
people come here saying it doesn't work but they haven't done anything
wrong. 2 out of 3 people here know that is very unlikely to be the case.

;), sreten.