Signal level - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd March 2012, 12:54 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Signal level

Hi!!

I am musician and have been playing for already 20 years now, but I have just started to get into the home recording world and thus I am still learning the basics.

I have been reading a lot about the concepts of dB and impedance and, even though I already start to get them, still have some doubts.

For instance, dB. I got that it is just a reference value of two magnitudes (power, volts, sound pressure...) and also got what dBV, dBu, etc....mean. However, when I try to go in more depth on what this concept means I get a bit confused.
Say I got a chain of diverse pro studio equipment. Then I have +4dBu (1.23 Volt) level reference. Then my question would be: what does it really mean?.
using dBu means using 0.775 volts reference. Then, if understood correctly, when I measure any output from my audio interface in dB, I will be measuring the output voltage of that equipment referred to 0.775 Volts. For instance, if the output level is 0.725 the my dB meter will display 20Xlog (0.725/0.775) = -0.6 dBu
Up to now, I kinda understand it.
However, when I start getting lost is whe we talk about +4dBu. Where is this value (1.23 V) used? I am already using 0.775 V, which is what I think I am supposed to when using dBu scale.....
Same thing would happen if I choose consumer signal level reference (-10dBV, 0.316 V)

Furthermore, What is what physically occurs when I change the reference level from +4 dBu to -10 dBV?
just the reference value is changed in the dB formula, or there is a real electronic change within the equipment??

Thanks a lot for your help!!! (and sorry for the long question)