Subwoofer circuit: Going from speaker level to line level

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings,
Most modern sub-woofers have both speaker level (high) and line level (low) inputs.

My sub does not have the speaker level inputs. This was not a problem while I was using a pre-amp in my system. But now that I've gone direct from the source, I need a way to include my sub in the system.

I was thinking about creating a circuit that would allow my sub to get it's signal from the main amp.

But before I go any further I am wondering, what's the opinion here on how complicated this might be and degree of difficultly to implement.

All I need is a circuit that takes me from the output level of my amp back to a workable line level that my sub amp can a handle.
Seems simple enough.
Any ideas?

Thanks!!

I'm by no means an expert but wouldn't it be more logical to take the signal from the amp input instead of the output?

Perhaps.
I am using a shunt attenuator connected at the back of the amp.
So in order for it to work, the signal would have to branch off between the shunt circuit and the amp.

I'm not certain how this would effect the various impedances.

As it is, my source output impedance is 5ohm. The amp input impedance is 100Kohm. And the shunt circuit has a 2kohm for it's series resister. (technically, 1k per balanced leg.)
I haven't looked yet to see what the input impedance of the sub amp would be.

I'm just assuming that the input impedance of the sub amp would be a lot more benign parallel to the speaker load. It also keeps as much out of the primary signal circuit as possible. (though I may be naive in this thinking.)

Last edited: