Perreaux SM2 Custom - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th December 2011, 07:22 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Perreaux SM2 Custom

Hello,

Did a cap change and IEC receptacle change to a Perreaux SM2 preamp and thought I would share results. Simply put I'm a novice at slinging solder so I love tweaking previously built gear. Took out a total of 10 Wima capacitors and replaced with 6 GEN 1 Sonicaps totaling equal value, only difference was a slightly higher voltage rating. I've had this Perreaux for about 4 years and used it as a backup for when I wasn't using other preamps such as an Audible Illusions 3A. Also, I had a Perreaux SM3 and compared it too the SM2 years back and thought that if I could change stock cable on SM2 it might sound better in stock form minus hardwired stock cable. Needless to say it did, cut a hole in back with a plasma cutter where existing cable was and fitted IEC. Then, I finally got around to changing the stock Wima caps at the coupling stages in line and phono stages and what a dramatic turnaround. At some point I will go after power supply electrolytic's as this will likely have a bigger impact than filter caps, but for now I am really enjoying listening to it.