High gain pre amp noise problems.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have made a microphone pre amp using a simple op - amp none inverting tl084. It works great for line level but the microphone amp with a gain of 47 is quite noisy even with the input shorted. The resistors on the op amp are 470k feedback and 10k to ground through a capacitor. Its pretty bog standard.

Does anyone have any ideas on improving the signal to noise on this ?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
I'm no expert on mic preamps but I would suggest looking at the impedances of both the mic and your circuit values.

Is it a dynamic mic or an electret ? Dynamics are often 600 ohm or 10k and electrets with inbuilt FET preamp can drive a lowish impedance.

Consider replacing the TL084. JFET opamps are noisy (voltage noise). Do you need a quad device ? Something like the LM4562 (NE5532) and lowering the feedback resistors to say 4K7 and 100R with an appropriately sized feedback return cap would probably be much much better noise wise. Keep the input impedance of the non inverting input low too (4K7).

www.hifisonix.com
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Mooly is right, your feedback resistors are quite high - the parallel value of 10k and 470k is up near 10k Ohms. You could drop these to 4k7 and 100 for starters as he says (or 8.2k and 220 Ohms is you are worried about loading). What input bias resistor value are you using (i.e. on the non-inverting input)?

The other problem may be around your layout - Can you share it with us?

Is the op-amp decoupled close to the supply pins

Make sure that the junction of the feedback resistors is as close as physically possible to the inverting input.

www.hifisonix.com
Joined 2003
Paid Member