Bypassing a receiver's internal amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th September 2011, 11:06 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Bypassing a receiver's internal amp

Hi all,

First I have to say that I am a total newbie when it comes to hardware modifications, so past forums are of little help for me as I don't understand them . But I amwilling to learn

Therefore my question will be simple:

I own an old Kenwood KRF-V4550 5.1 receiver. Can I internally connect the two front channels coming from the dsp to the "rec out" RCA outs featured on the receiver?

This would turn the "rec out" connectors into a "pre-out" sending out the two decoded front channels to an external stereo amp (which it can't do at the moment, the "rec outs"--as there are several, one set of rca outs for each analog input-- do not output signals coming from the receiver's digital inputs). The remaining channels would still be amplified by the receiver.

Is there a simple tweak around it?

Thank you in advance for your help!
Old 28th September 2011, 03:48 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

In a two-channel amplifier, it would be simple. Not so simple for a 5.1 amplifier.
If you can identify the L and R front channel amplifiers, you may be able to pick up the audio at the input to those amplifiers.
You may be able to identify the L and R front channel amplifiers by tracing the front channel L and R speaker lines inside the amplifier.
Finding the input of the amplifiers is another matter. A partial schematic which shows the L and R front channel amplifiers would be helpful.
Old 2nd October 2011, 10:41 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi all!