Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th August 2011, 11:26 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default XLR Selector Box

Hey All,

I'm a total newbie to the DIYAudio world, so my apologies if the answer to this is obvious:

I want to build a unit with 4 XLR inputs (2 sets of L+R), 2 XLR outputs, and be able to switch between the 2 sets of L+R inputs. Make sense?

At first blush it seemed simple to me, but after doing some reading and research I've confused the crap out of myself. If anyone has any suggestions on how I would go about building such an animal, it would be much appreciated.

Cheers!
Old 28th August 2011, 06:47 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

4 XLR inputs means 8 lines to switch. You need an 8 pole 2 way switch. Does such a thing exist? I don't know. Maybe in rotary form. Else you could use relays? Do you need to switch quickly? If not, what about a patch bay?
Old 28th August 2011, 07:02 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Something like this?

http://www.markertek.com/Routers-Swi...OX-ABS-1.xhtml

Mike

Last edited by Michael Bean; 28th August 2011 at 07:05 PM.
Old 28th August 2011, 07:07 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Ricobasso is correct, you will need a 8 pole or larger switch.

In the earlier days of computers, several companies such as Black Box made data switch boxes that switched RS232 cables so computers could share printers. They used a 25 pole 2 way switch and this could easily be modified to use XLR jacks instead. You could probably get this on a surplus site for $20 or so. E-mail me if you need additional info.
Old 28th August 2011, 07:20 PM   #5
Tajzmaj is offline Tajzmaj  Slovenia
diyAudio Member