Help a Newb add preamps to his receiver.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, im new to these forums and i need some help. Im a newbie so please bear with me. I have a stav-3470 receiver and it does not have preamp outs for the L and R channels. I am currently pushing the receiver pretty hard and occasionally the screen dims and it distorts/clips slightly when the bass hits so i need preamp outs to be able add external amps to take some of the load off my receiver. If i tooks some pics of the inside could a kind member tell me where i could find a line level signal that i could use to run to some external rca jacks? I assume i could find one near the circuit board that does the volume control. I would like to do all this for free with parts i currently have and as simple as possible. . thanks for any help.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Options...

If it uses a "normal" volume control (a pot rather than electronic attenuator) then taking the signal from the wiper of the pot and ground will give a feed that alters with the receivers volume setting.

Take the feed from the "top" of the pot and the level would be fixed.

The first option runs the real risk of an external amp "loading" or pulling down the level making the control range of the main volume control seem a bit odd. If the external amp presented much capacitance as a load then the hf response could be affected. A simple FET buffer or FET opamp would eliminate both these issues entirely though.

Hi, thanks for the reply. Yes the reciever uses a pot but im pretty sure that it also has op amps on the volume circuit board. I found 4 wires that went from the volume control to the amps labeled L and LG and R and RG. Is that were i would find my signal? I checked with a multimeter and the two Gs are connected to the chassis of the receiver. Check out the pic i took and tell me if thats the best source for a preamp signal.