High quality capacitors for crossovers? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th April 2011, 11:10 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default High quality capacitors for crossovers?

Hi all, I'm really new in electronics DIY.

So far I have read tons of discussions about choosing "the best" capacitors (Elna, Panasonic, Rubicon, etc) for audio replacements in integrated amplifiers. But I was also thinking: if I have to replace the capacitors inside my old loudspeakers (crossovers), do I have to put high quality audio capacitors?

Many thanks in advance.
Old 4th April 2011, 12:15 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Yes
Old 4th April 2011, 12:40 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Monte - my advice here is that if you are new to DIY, you start playing with decent quality components, without launching into esoteric parts. For example, crossover capacitors are available in Australia (internationally digikey, element14 etc also sell them) that cost <US$10 for typical XO caps.

I agre that good quality is necessary. Just not esoteric. This will get you decent quality for speaker XO type parts.

I honestly feel that gaining experience and getting a feel for what you are doing - all the while having a great deal of fun - need not require you to sell your house or rob a bank.

As an aside: There are many people who are quite adamant about the audibility of some extraordinarily expensive parts. My experience is that the basics (i.e. speaker driver selection and crossover design) are where the real differences are at.

Make your own judgement: choose a piece of kit (ideally broken needing repair, or something you are happy to murder) and tuck in!
Old 4th April 2011, 01:32 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Caps type by preference:
1. MKP/FKP
2. MKS