6-band graphic eq project component substitutions / improvements - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th March 2011, 05:56 PM   #1
dtleahy is offline dtleahy  United States
diyAudio Member

Default 6-band graphic eq project component substitutions / improvements

Hi I just joined, and this is my first post here.

I'm pretty new to electronics and see that there are some truly advanced engineering wizards here.

I want to build a small graphic equalizer to be installed in acoustic guitars that I'm building. (The EQ units commercially available are not ideal for one reason or another, such as only being 3-band, or only mounting in a soundhole, use their own preamp, aesthetic issues, or being too expensive, etc.)

I found a free set of project plans here: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/projects/18-eq/46-6-band-graphic-eq

This set of plans is for an outboard ("stompbox"?) unit, not meant to be installed within the guitar, but it seems like making a smaller circuit board and replacing the "heavy duty foot switch" with a tiny toggle switch will allow it to work inside a guitar. EQ on a guitar is not something that gets tweaked a whole lot. Once a player finds a setting to work well with a specific guitar pickup, that setting will probably typically stay put.

Pots: