6-band graphic eq project component substitutions / improvements

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I just joined, and this is my first post here.

I'm pretty new to electronics and see that there are some truly advanced engineering wizards here.

I want to build a small graphic equalizer to be installed in acoustic guitars that I'm building. (The EQ units commercially available are not ideal for one reason or another, such as only being 3-band, or only mounting in a soundhole, use their own preamp, aesthetic issues, or being too expensive, etc.)

I found a free set of project plans here: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/projects/18-eq/46-6-band-graphic-eq

This set of plans is for an outboard ("stompbox"?) unit, not meant to be installed within the guitar, but it seems like making a smaller circuit board and replacing the "heavy duty foot switch" with a tiny toggle switch will allow it to work inside a guitar. EQ on a guitar is not something that gets tweaked a whole lot. Once a player finds a setting to work well with a specific guitar pickup, that setting will probably typically stay put.

Pots:
6 or 7 pots is a lot of pots, visually, and could look really ugly sticking out of the side of an acoustic guitar. I'm looking at aesthetics. I don't want round pots (6 or 7 knobs sticking out of the side of an acoustic guitar doesn't sound too cool, and they would need a lot of space.) Slider pots were my next thought, but the travel is too long to work well on curved guitar sides. So, I thought of thumbwheel pots. (I could just make little slits in the guitar side wood to have the thumbwheels erupt through - a good aesthetic option.)
f-09np_250.JPG

(I really need something like these, vertical mount, so I can stack 6 of them next to each other.)