Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th February 2011, 06:46 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Fixing a Kenwood 700c preamplifier - help please!

Hi everyone! I am new to diyaudio but have been a lurker for a while. It is a fantastic site and I love spending time reading the threads here - having found many an answer I was looking for. I greatly respect some of the renowned members here and their knowledge.

I am a new owner of a Kenwood 700c preamplifier. I have some questions about improving the circuitry in this preamp and being a novice, only have a general idea about what can be done to bring it to 2011 - maybe at least half the way from 1974.

Here are the links to the schematics thanks to fotoalbumet.com:

http://www.fotoalbumet.com/u/00/24/4...del-700C_1.PNG

http://www.fotoalbumet.com/u/00/24/4...del-700C_2.PNG

I cannot seem to find any issues with the first buffer stage and the filter stage - except that the low pass filter stage has the 2.2K ohm resistor acting like a base stopper and has no resistor load at the output.

The tone control stage has no CCS. A good CCS would be an effective improvement. The Miller cap is ceramic, I will change it to a silvered mica. Feedback can be altered in this section as well, possibly eliminating global feedback. I discovered no local decoupling in the tone control board, so I will add a 100uF electrolytic and .1 uF MKP on the positive and negative rails.

The phono stage has a high working voltage, in part to give the CCS resistor a more ideal character. I cannot see anything that could be done except that the 47 pf cap on the LTP is a bit high; there is no capacitive loading of the cartridge as well.