diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Analog Line Level (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/)
-   -   Differential buffer without feedback? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/179183-differential-buffer-without-feedback.html)

Macleod 15th December 2010 12:31 PM

Differential buffer without feedback?

Hello,

I am struggling to try to find out a principle to apply for a schematic I need. I am studying for a while my hybrid amplifier trying all known typologies. this amplifier is with symetrical input (differential 2 x 12AT7).

My goal is to use differential inputs (XLR) and make a connection to the 12AT7. Unfortunately, the feedback resistors (low for noise) are not compatible with the minimum input impedance for XLR. 10k?

So I investigate a single differential buffer. 2 inputs. 2 outputs. No feedback necessary, thus no room for resistor noise. Or maybe feedback ok, but idea to have optimum noise/input impedance?

I have seen some attempts here and there but no prototpe nor sims were done.

Do you have any guideline? Isn't it a common requirement? I feel not so good to use a 100dB AOP to have a x1 gain. I will go if I have no choice (well, you understand, it is philosophical... my Hybrid has no feedback neither... except final BJT buffer...)

Hope you can help!

best regards

Laurent

Macleod 16th December 2010 12:13 PM

2 Attachment(s)
I found following document concerning fully differential amplifiers : http://focus.ti.com/lit/an/sloa054d/sloa054d.pdf

The schematic (attached) is a good starting point for a discrete design.

Back home yesterday evening, I LTspiced a version with +/-50V power supply. First version with current sources, second with resistors instead of current source.

Surprisingly, it is easy to have a low distorsion (lower than ppm) in differential mode with 4 V ouput signal (see application schematic).

Didn't think about coming office with models... no web at home. I will post another day.