Differential buffer without feedback?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I am struggling to try to find out a principle to apply for a schematic I need. I am studying for a while my hybrid amplifier trying all known typologies. this amplifier is with symetrical input (differential 2 x 12AT7).

My goal is to use differential inputs (XLR) and make a connection to the 12AT7. Unfortunately, the feedback resistors (low for noise) are not compatible with the minimum input impedance for XLR. 10k?

So I investigate a single differential buffer. 2 inputs. 2 outputs. No feedback necessary, thus no room for resistor noise. Or maybe feedback ok, but idea to have optimum noise/input impedance?

I have seen some attempts here and there but no prototpe nor sims were done.

Do you have any guideline? Isn't it a common requirement? I feel not so good to use a 100dB AOP to have a x1 gain. I will go if I have no choice (well, you understand, it is philosophical... my Hybrid has no feedback neither... except final BJT buffer...)

Hope you can help!

best regards

Laurent

I found following document concerning fully differential amplifiers : http://focus.ti.com/lit/an/sloa054d/sloa054d.pdf

The schematic (attached) is a good starting point for a discrete design.

Back home yesterday evening, I LTspiced a version with +/-50V power supply. First version with current sources, second with resistors instead of current source.

Surprisingly, it is easy to have a low distorsion (lower than ppm) in differential mode with 4 V ouput signal (see application schematic).

Didn't think about coming office with models... no web at home. I will post another day.

I have now a differential buffer that suit half the requirement :
- differential in : ok
- differential out : ok
- gain=1 : ok
- low output impedance : ok
- high input impedance : not yet ok, depends on R1, R3