Jolida JD9 Upgrade/Mods Clarification.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hiya, hope all's well. I have the op amps (AD843KN) and capacitors (AMPOHM: FP-CA-1-AU) lined up for replacement in my Jolida JD9 phono stage. I've already rolled the tubes to good effect and the op amps are a doddle to change. It's the caps I'm worried about.

I've been losely following this thread:

Jolida JD-9A phono amp hybrid Magic...

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Where is the left hand solder of the left hand cap connected, is it not connected above as it appears different to the pic below?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Trouble is, I can see from the pics where to solder (more or less) and I admit I'm a total newbie but with pictures like these I can get through it no problem. However, the article suggests removal of the "old capacitors", and I could do with someone double confirming which ones these are please.

There's a pic of the layout here and you can see the six op amps in the top right too.

Thanks in advance good people. Ultimately I'll then populate this page with many photo's along the way, hopefully bringing together the info from other sites (which isn't complete in any one instance, there's always the need to trawl around).

Last edited:
There's a small green capacitor next to each valve (they'd be on the right of the valves as viewed in the photo above), these are doubtless the ones to remove but I thought I'd better confirm.

Incidentally, the op amp change alone has made the overall sound much cleaner and more detailed, perhaps as you'd expect with slew rates like that. It's quite a difference. However, it's brought with it a change in timbre at least in the lower frequencies as the bass seems a half step lighter in tone.