Salas hotrodded blue DCB1 build

Finally started soldering my DCB1. Two questions came up:

- Are there any issues with reversing the FETs and diodes so that they can be mounted to the chassis, underneath the board? I've seen many pictures of this, but wanted to check if there was anything that needed to be altered to facilitate it.

- Is a plate of 7" x 11" x 1/8" aluminum (approx 180x280x3mm) enough of a heatsink for the DCB1?

Hi everyone

First of all, I would like to really congratulate Salas, Tea-Bag and all for the wonderful work you guies are doing with the DCB1 project. You are very knowledgeable people. Showing a lot of of patience and respect in answering all those various questions and/or inquiries. Lot of passion and dedication.

Very much appreciated. A big thanks on behalf of everybody !!!

Well now, I am a newbie in the DCB1 building project. Was made aware of this wonderful "preamp" when I listened to it at my fellow audiophile's place a few weeks ago. Very very impressive stuff. Since then, I ordered boards from Tea-Bag and am part of the GB.

I read close to a thousand posts on DCB1 with great interest, but still have some remaining questions (got to admit I might have missed some answers as there are so many replies...so, sorry if I am repeating questions already answered somewhere).

Anyway, here they go:

1) I noticed there is a wide range of capacitance possible in the shunt regulator (with a significant gap ranging from 0,22-10uf if using film caps or from 10-100uf if using electrolytics). I know that these caps are not in the audio signal but still, since there is such a wide difference in values (almost 50X between 0,22 and 10uf), I was wondering if someone has compared different values of same quality caps and noticed a difference in sound quality ? I plan to use Audyn true copper film caps.