Active Crossover Using transistors.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear All,

First off I should say I am not a pro in Electronics. Second I should say I am not a great believer in "Special source" Hifi.

Why do I not just use Op-amps?

Partly for the fun of it. Partly because people are always swapping them out to get "better" sound.

I have a pair of Quad ESL 63 and am trying to design an active cross over. I have a CX3400 which I used to make my LINN HELIX speakers active, but cross over frequencies for 2 way active filtering don't cross over low enough for my ESL 63 so its time for better.

I have read the following articles.
and the following threads on this forum.
But I could not find a design that was both 100% transistor (Not op amp). I would like PCB's but will do this with vero board for now.

At the moment I am wondering:
  • what resistors I should use for biasing TR2 and TR3. I assume these will effect the cross over network.
  • If I need TR4 and TR7 output buffers.
  • If 12 V gives enough headroom considering 4 transistors will have 0.6 Base Emitter drop for biasing.

Parts should be available from a standard supplier like Farnell and not supper expensive which limits the value of C3,4,5,7,8 to a Capacitance:100nF; Capacitance Tolerance:± 1%. £1.22 Where as 68nF ± 1% are 49pence.

I will probably build 4 of the above so I can do AB Stereo comparisons and will experiment with cross over frequencies between 100-300 Hz.

For Now I will use my old Linn speakers as the sub woofer.

Here is a circuit I am starting with, feed back would be appreciated.

Attachments

• MyCrossover.png
    MyCrossover.png
    15.7 KB · Views: 1,490
Thanks for the encouragement richie00boy. And the values for R5 and R6, and R9 and R10. Could you please clarify
but you are missing the caps for R14 and R17.
As I was thinking C7 and C* would be the capacitors for the filter.