How to have a 48v+ on McCurdy preamp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analog Line Level

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th March 2009, 11:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default How to have a 48v+ on McCurdy preamp

Hello everyone,

Im a student in audiovisual and I have a big project to do so I would need a little help here..First of all, I'm a french canadian so please give clear information because my english is good but not so good hehe. Thank you.

So I have a DA501 pre amp from Mc Curdy and I need to do some modification on it to have a Phantom Power 48v+. To do that I need to do some modification on the power supply to have a 48v+ output. We have 47v RMS at the end of the power supply but we need 48v+ DC.

At some point,my teacher give us a hint by telling us we need a LM317 high voltage I think. Also he told us we need to know how much voltage is at the transfo to adjust the value of the resistor so we can get 48v+ DC.

I need to do some research but I'm actually very lost about this so if someone could help me out a little, it would be really appreciated. Maybe a explanation of what jo needs to be done to have 48v+ DC and explanation of the concept.

If you can give me some hint also of where to search, it would be usefull because I need to gather information but I'm completly lost in that project.

Thank you
Old 11th March 2009, 08:00 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Im sorry I made some mistake here...I have 47v at the end of the power supply but its not regulated for a Phantom power..

At the output of the transfo I have 46.5v

I still have to found a solution to bring 48v+ regulated in the power supply of the pre amp so I can add a Switch whit phantom power ...

Any ideas???
Old 11th March 2009, 10:28 PM   #3
diyAudio Member